LANGUAGE/ ЕЗИК

ed hunter banner

ED HUNTOUR

July – October 1999

tourbook11b_edhunter Ed_Huntour

Not long after the amazing announcement that BruceDickinson and Adrian Smith would rejoin Iron Maiden the new 6-memberline up went on the road again in an uncharacteristically short tour insupport of their compilation album and computer game Ed Hunter. It wasalso a chance to re-introduce the almost "classic" line up of the bandto their legions of fans. Sadly, Adrian Smith had to miss some of theshows due to the death of his father, and the band omitted 'Stranger InA Strange Land' from the set because Janick didn't have time to learnAdrian's solo. After Adrian did return, they decided to continue onwithout playing 'Stranger...' because they felt it made the entire setmove better. Moreover, some shows had to be cancelled on the US Westcoast due to an onstage accident in Los Angeles where Dave Murray brokea finger. The band sounded in top form and their three-guitar onslaughtprovided some interesting twists to some of the songs. The return ofBruce and Adrian seemed to galvanise the world, and the Ed Hunter Tourgenerated much more media attention and fan excitement than any of thethe previous tours had. Bruce promised that the following album andtour would pave the way for the return to glory for heavy metal music,a feeling that seemed to be in the air during 1999.

Opening bands for this tour were: Monster Magnet, Soulfly and Puya for North America, and Megadeth for Europe

SETLIST (varied)

Intro: Heartbeat/Transylvania/Churchill's Speech
Aces High
Wrathchild
The Trooper
2 Minutes To Midnight
The Clansman
Wasted Years
Killers
Futureal
Man On The Edge
Powerslave
Phantom Of The Opera
The Evil That Men Do
Fear Of The Dark
Iron Maiden
The Number Of The Beast
Hallowed Be Thy Name
Run To The Hills

 

Tracks played only at a few venues
Stranger In A Strange Land

TOUR DATES

DATE LOCATION VENUE INFO
Sunday, 11 July 1999 St. Johns, Canada Harbour Station
Tuesday, 13 July 1999 Montreal, Canada Molson Centre Amphitheatre

Support: Voivod

Wednesday, 14 July 1999 Quebec City, Canada L'Agora

Support: Voivod

Friday, 16 July 1999 New York, USA Hammerstein Ballroom

Support: Clutch

Saturday, 17 July 1999 New York, USA Hammerstein Ballroom

Support: Clutch

Sunday, 18 July 1999 Boston, USA Orpheum Theatre

Support: Clutch, Adrian doesnt play, because of the funereal of his father

Tuesday, 20 July 1999 Toronto, Canada Massey Hall

Support: Clutch, Adrian doesnt play, because of the funereal of his father

Wednesday, 21 July 1999 Cleveland, USA Nautica

Support: Clutch & Monster Magnet

Friday, 23 July 1999 Milwaukee, USA Eagles Ballroom

Support: Monster Magnet

Saturday, 24 July 1999 Detroit / Clarkston, USA Pine Knob Amphitheatre

Support: Clutch & Monster Magnet

Sunday, 25 July 1999 Chicago, USA Aragon Ballroom

Support: Clutch & Monster Magnet

Tuesday, 27 July 1999 Denver, USA Fiddler Green

Support: Puya & Soulfly & Monster Magnet

Friday, 30 July 1999 Los Angeles, USA Greek Theatre

Support: Puya, Soulfly & Monster Magnet. Dave broke his finger in the end of the concert

Saturday, 31 July 1999 San Jose, USA San Jose Arena Theatre

CANCELED: Because of the Dave`s broken finger

Monday, 02 August 1999 Las Vegas, USA The Joint

CANCELED: Because of the Dave`s broken finger

Tuesday, 03 August 1999 Phoenix, USA Costa Mesa Amphitheatre

CANCELED: Because of the Dave`s broken finger

Wednesday, 04 August 1999 El Paso , USA County Coliseum

Support: Puya & System Of Doom . Dave doesn't play solos

Saturday, 07 August 1999 San Antonio, USA Sunken Garden Amphitheatre

Support: Puya & System Of Doom . Bruce have birthday.

Sunday, 08 August 1999 Dallas, USA Bronco Bowl

Support: Puya & System Of Doom

Thursday, 09 September 1999 Paris, France Omnisport De Bercy

Support: Megadeth

Friday, 10 September 1999 Rotterdam, Holland Ahoy Hall

Support: Megadeth

Sunday, 12 September 1999 Hamburg, Germany Sporthalle

Support: Megadeth

Wednesday, 15 September 1999 Helsinki, Finland Jaahalli

Support: Megadeth

Friday, 17 September 1999 Stockholm, Sweeden Globe Arena

Support: Megadeth

Saturday, 18 September 1999 Gothenburg, Sweeden Scandinavium

Support: Megadeth

Monday, 20 September 1999 Essen, Germany Grugahalle

Support: Megadeth

Tuesday, 21 September 1999 Stuttgart, Germany Schleyerhalle

Support: Megadeth

Thursday, 23 September 1999 Milan, Italy Fila Forum

Support: Megadeth

Saturday, 25 September 1999 Barcelona, Spain Palau Olympic

Support: Megadeth

Sunday, 26 September 1999 Leganes, Spain La Cubierta Bullring

Support: Megadeth

Friday, 01 October 1999 Athens, Greece Peristeri Stadium

No Support Band