tim banner

80 lineup1980

This was Iron Maiden's first full-length studio album, although it contains a couple of re-recorded versions of tracks from The SoundhouseTapes. Most of the songs on this album had been played by the band during the previous several years during their endless series of small gigs at various clubs and pubs around London . For this reason, the album contains a wide range of material that is not really unified into any specific theme or style. The sound is also a bit different from the later albums to which most Maiden fans are accustomed, but after several listens their unique power and depth begin to sink in. This is particularly astonishing because although Will Malone was officially the producer for the album, he never contributed much and the album production was mostly done by the band and the recording engineer. So although the production is a bit primitive, the album virtually explodes with raw energy and power. Several of these tracks have become Maiden classics and still almost mandatory at every Maiden concert..

Full-length, EMI Records
14 April 1981

single01 runningfree t small single02 sanctuary t small single03 women t small

1.Prowler 03:56
2.Remember Tomorrow 05:28
3.Running Free 03:18
4.Phantom Of The Opera 07:08
5. Transylvania 04:19
6.Strange World 05:32
7. Charlotte The Harlot 04:13
8.Iron Maiden 03:36

Total playing time 37:30

The original album and CD pressing (cat.-no. CD-FA 3121) is an 8-track albumomitting "Sanctuary," which was a bonus track on the U.S. version.

Paul Di'Anno - Lead Vocals
Steve Harris - Bass & Vocals
Dave Murray - Lead & Rhythm Guitar
Dennis Stratton - Lead & Rhythm Guitar & Vocals
Clive Burr - Drums

The 1998 remaster album cover is different from the original released in 1980
and contains the bonus track "Sanctuary" * . It also contains special enhanced CD-ROM multimedia section with videos, exclusive photo galleries, biographies,internet links plus a deluxe 24 page colour booklet with full lyrics, Eddie artand photos.

All titles composed by Steve Harris except tracks 2 & 3 (Harris & Paul Di'Anno) and track 7 (Dave Murray). The track numbers above are on the original version, thus not counting Sanctuary.

Published by Zomba Music Publishers Ltd.

The 1995 reissue comes with a bonus cd with the following track list:

01 - Burning Ambition ( 02:40 )
02 - Drifter (live) ( 06:04 )
03 - I've Got The Fire (live) ( 03:14 )
  Produced by:
Will Malone, December 1979

Recorded at:
Kingsway Studios, London

Mixed by:
Martin Levan в Morgan Studios, London (1998 re-release)

Remastered by :
Simon Hayworth at Chop 'Em Out (1998 re-release)

Rod Smallwood for Sanctuary Music

Front cover illustration by:
Derek Riggs

Thanks to Neal, Loonhouse and the Bandwagon 'eadbangers, Joe Luissi and all at the Ruskin, Doug Sampson, the long-suffering road crew (Crazy Baldhead (Vic Vella), Pete "I don't need all this" Bryant, Dave Lights and Loopy), Gross Halfwit, and all at Cowbell, Crazy Ken and the one percenters. Hammers rule O.K.

Photography by:
Terry Walker and Yuka Fujii (original 1980 release)
Robert Ellis, George Chin, P.G. Brunelli, Ross Halfin, Denis O'Regan (1998 re-release)

Iron Maiden Info:
Write to 105 Beaconsfield Road, London E16 (original 1980 release) Iron Maiden Fan Club: P.O.Box 3803, Harlow, Essex, CM17 0NZ, England Telephone/Fax: +44 (0)1279 442666

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (1998 re-release)



Members Login