LANGUAGE/ ЕЗИК

Killer World Tour

February – November 1981

killer 1981 eddie stage

The  Killers tour saw Maiden evolve from a successful club act and opening act into a blistering headlining act. One of the most important line-up changes had taken place with the arrival of ex-Urchin guitarist and long-time friend of the band, Adrian Smith. Adrian wasn't just a "second" guitarist, but a talented player and songwriter who would help define the sound of Iron Maiden time and time again. The band toured the world, opening for different bands for the most part, with a headlining tour of Japan and a few headlining shows in the U.S. The set list was evenly distributed between songs from the  Iron Maiden album and from  Killers, and there were both unaccompanied drum and guitar solos (by Dave) in the set. During this tour Iron Maiden recorded and officially released the  Maiden Japan live E.P. in order to give record-buyers a sample of their live sound at this point (the E.P. only contained 4 or 5 songs, depending on where you bought it). As with Denis Stratton in the previous year, Maiden began to experience problems with singer Paul Di'Anno during the tour, which eventually led to his replacement by Bruce Dickinson, which changed the face of Iron Maiden forever.

During the tour, Maiden played with bands like JUDAS PRIEST, UFO и FOREIGNER, TRUST, MORE and others

Note that 'The Ides Of March' was not played live on this tour, but instead was played from a tape as an intro for the band.

SETLIST (varied)
Standard Set

Intro: The Ides Of March
Wrathchild
Purgatory
Sanctuary
Remember Tomorrow
Another Life [with drum solo]
Genghis Khan
Killers
Innocent Exile
Murders In The Rue Morgue
Twilight Zone
Phantom Of The Opera
Iron Maiden
Running Free
Transylvania
Guitar solo
Drifter
Prowler

Tracks played only at a few venues

Strange World
I've Got The Fire

Tracks from the next album played to assess the audience's response (with Bruce Dickinson on vocals)

22, Acacia Avenue
Children Of The Damned
Run To The Hills
The Prisoner

TOUR DATES

DATE LOCATION VENUE INFO
Tuesday, 17 February 1981 Ipswich, UK Gaumont Hall

Support: TRUST

Wednesday, 18 February 1981 Norwich, UK University of East Anglia

Support: TRUST

Thursday, 19 February 1981 Oxford, UK New Theatre

Support: TRUST

Friday, 20 February 1981 Lancaster, UK University of Lancaster

Support: TRUST

Saturday, 21 February 1981 Derby, UK Assembly Rooms

Support: TRUST

Sunday, 22 February 1981 Manchester, UK Apollo Theatre

Support: TRUST

Monday, 23 February 1981 Hanley, UK Victoria Hall

Support: TRUST

Tuesday, 24 February 1981 Dunstable, UK Queensway Hall

Support: TRUST

Thursday, 26 February 1981 Guilford, UK Civic Hall

Support: TRUST

Friday, 27 February 1981 Bristol, UK Colston Hall

Support: TRUST

Saturday, 28 February 1981 Taunton, UK Odeon

Support: TRUST

Sunday, 01 March 1981 Bournemouth, UK Odeon

Support: TRUST

Monday, 02 March 1981 Southampton, UK Gaumont Hall

Support: TRUST

Wednesday, 04 March 1981 Bradford, UK Saint George's Hall

Support: TRUST

Thursday, 05 March 1981 Liverpool, UK Empire Theatre

Support: TRUST

Friday, 06 March 1981 Middlesborough, UK Royal Court

Support: TRUST

Saturday, 07 March 1981 Newcastle, UK City Hall

Support: TRUST

Sunday, 08 March 1981 Glasgow, Scotland Apollo Theatre

Support: TRUST

Monday, 09 March 1981 Edinburgh, UK Playhouse Theatre

Support: TRUST

Tuesday, 10 March 1981 Sheffield, UK City Hall

Support: TRUST

Thursday, 12 March 1981 Birmingham, UK Odeon

Support: TRUST

Friday, 13 March 1981 Cambridge, UK Corn Exchange

Support: TRUST

Saturday, 14 March 1981 Bracknell, UK Leisure Centre

Support: TRUST

Sunday, 15 March 1981 Hammersmith, London, UK Hammersmith Odeon

Support: TRUST

Wednesday, 18 March 1981 Lille, France Palais St. Sauveur

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Thursday, 19 March 1981 Hagondage, France Salle de Fetes

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Friday, 20 March 1981 Reims, France Maison Des Sports

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Saturday, 21 March 1981 Paris, France Le Bataclan

Support: MORE

Sunday, 22 March 1981 Paris, France Le Bataclan

Support: MORE

Monday, 23 March 1981 Paris, France Palais D'Hiver

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Tuesday, 24 March 1981 Miramas, France Salle Des Fêtes

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Wednesday, 25 March 1981 Toulon, France Patinoire Vert Côteau

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Thursday, 26 March 1981 Nice, France Théatre De Verdure

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Friday, 27 March 1981 Montpellier, France Palais Des Sports

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Monday, 30 March 1981 Sanremo, Italy Teatro Ariston

Support: MORE
Iron Maiden did two shows on this date: one at 16:00 (short set) and one at 21:00.

Tuesday, 31 March 1981 Reggio Emilia, Italy Palasport

Support: MORE

Wednesday, 01 April 1981 Brescia, Italy Palasport

Support: MORE

Thursday, 02 April 1981 Gorizia, Italy Palasport

Support: MORE

Friday, 03 April 1981 Turin, Italy Palasport

Support: MORE

Sunday, 05 April 1981 Zurich, Switzerland Volkshaus

Support: MORE

Monday, 06 April 1981 Erlangen, Germany Stadthalle

Support: MORE

Tuesday, 07 April 1981 Düsseldorf, Germany Phillipshalle

Support: MORE

Wednesday, 08 April 1981 Cologne, Germany Sporthalle

Support: MORE

Thursday, 09 April 1981 Offenbach, Germany Stadhalle

CANCELED Postponed to 29.04.1981

Friday, 10 April 1981 Berlin, Germany Neue Welt

CANCELED Poor ticket sales

Sunday, 12 April 1981 Wertheim, Germany Main-Tauber-Halle

Support: MORE

Monday, 13 April 1981 Munich, Germany Schwabinger Brau

Support: MORE

Tuesday, 14 April 1981 Karlsruhe, Germany Gartenhalle

Support: MORE

Thursday, 16 April 1981 Mannheim, Germany Musensaal Rosengarten

CANCELED

Friday, 17 April 1981 Strasbourg, France Hall Trivoli

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Saturday, 18 April 1981 Mulhouse, France Palais Des Fétes

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Sunday, 19 April 1981 Douvaine, Annecy, France Salle De La Bulle

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Tuesday, 21 April 1981 Comminges, Toulouse, France Colomiers Hall

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Wednesday, 22 April 1981 Bordeaux, France Salle Du Grand Parc

Support: MORE, OCEAN

Thursday, 23 April 1981 Orléans, France Rothonde

Support: MORE

Friday, 24 April 1981 Genk, Belgium Genk

Support: MORE

Saturday, 25 April 1981 Antwerpen, Belgium Cine Roma

Support: MORE

Sunday, 26 April 1981 Leiden, Netherlands Stadsgehoorzaal

Support: MORE

Monday, 27 April 1981 Winschoten, Netherlands De Klinker

CANCELED Due to poor ticket sales

Tuesday, 28 April 1981 Nijmegen, Netherlands De Vereeniging

Support: MORE

Wednesday, 29 April 1981 Offenbach, Germany Stadthalle

Support: MORE
Postponed from 09.04.1981

Friday, 01 May 1981 Hamburg, Germany Markthalle

CANCELED

Saturday, 02 May 1981 Dortmund, Germany Westfallenhalle

CANCELED

Sunday, 03 May 1981 Hamburg, Germany Ernst-Herck-Halle

Support: MORE

Thursday, 07 May 1981 Lund, Sweden Olympen

CANCELED

Postponed to 9th September

Friday, 08 May 1981 Stockholm, Sweden Göta Lejon

CANCELED

Postponed to 8th September

Saturday, 09 May 1981 Oslo, Norway Unknown

CANCELED

Sunday, 10 May 1981 Copenhagen, Denmark Odd Fellow

CANCELED
Postponed to 10.09.1981

Thursday, 21 May 1981 Tokyo, Japan Kosei Nenkin Hal
Friday, 22 May 1981 Osaka, Japan Festival Hall
Saturday, 23 May 1981 Nagoya, Japan Aichi Kōsei Nenkin Kaikan

Official Release of "Maiden Japan" EP

Sunday, 24 May 1981 Tokyo, Japan Nakano Sun Plaza Hall

Maiden played two shows on this date: one in the afternoon,the other in the evening.

Wednesday, 03 June 1981 Las Vegas, USA Aladdin Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 04 June 1981 Phoenix, USA Memorial Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Friday, 05 June 1981 El Paso, USA County Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 06 June 1981 Odessa, USA County Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 07 June 1981 Lubbock, USA Memorial Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Monday, 08 June 1981 Mcallen, USA Villa Real

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Tuesday, 09 June 1981 Laredo, USA Civic Center

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Wednesday, 10 June 1981 San Antonio, USA Arena

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 11 June 1981 Dallas, USA Moody Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 13 June 1981 Houston, USA Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 14 June 1981 Detroit, USA Harpo's
Friday, 19 June 1981 Toronto, Canada Concert Hall
Sunday, 21 June 1981 Montreal, Canada Le Club
Monday, 22 June 1981 Milwaukee, USA Rock Stage

Summerfest

Friday, 26 June 1981 Lynwood, USA Point East
Saturday, 27 June 1981 Cleveland, USA Agora Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 28 June 1981 Landover, USA Capitol Center

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Wednesday, 01 July 1981 Ashbury Park, USA Convention Hall

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 02 July 1981 Salisbury Park, USA Civic Center

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Friday, 03 July 1981 Norfolk, USA Scope

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 04 July 1981 Pittsburgh, USA Stanley Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Tuesday, 07 July 1981 Myrtle Beach, USA Civic Center

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 09 July 1981 Atlanta, USA Fox Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Friday, 10 July 1981 Johnson City, USA Freedom Hall

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 11 July 1981 Memphis, USA North Hall

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 12 July 1981 Dayton, USA Hara Arena

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Wednesday, 15 July 1981 Johnstown, USA War Memorial

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 16 July 1981 Buffalo, USA Shea's Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Friday, 17 July 1981 Rochester, USA Auditorium Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 18 July 1981 Syracuse, USA Landmark Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 19 July 1981 Albany, USA Palace Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Tuesday, 21 July 1981 New York City, USA The Palladium

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Wednesday, 22 July 1981 New York City, USA The Palladium

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 23 July 1981 New York City, USA The Palladium

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Friday, 24 July 1981 New York City, USA The Palladium

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 25 July 1981 New Haven, USA Coliseum

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Sunday, 26 July 1981 Allentown, USA Fairgrounds

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Tuesday, 28 July 1981 Boston, USA Orpheum Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Wednesday, 29 July 1981 Baltimore, USA Civic Center

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Thursday, 30 July 1981 Philadelphia, USA Tower Theater

Supporting JUDAS PRIEST

Saturday, 01 August 1981 San Bernardino, USA Swing Auditorium

Supporting U.F.O.

Sunday, 02 August 1981 Los Angeles, USA Long Beach Arena

Supporting U.F.O.

Saturday, 15 August 1981 Stuttgart, Germany Camstafter Wasen

Sunrise Festival

Sunday, 16 August 1981 Nuremberg, Germany Zeppelinfeld

Sunrise Festival

Saturday, 22 August 1981 Barloo, Netherlands Sport Park

Supporting: Foreigner

Sunday, 23 August 1981 Darmstadt, Germany Stadion am Böllenfalltor

Sunrise Festival

Wednesday, 26 August 1981 Frejus, France Arènes

Support: TRUST

Thursday, 27 August 1981 Cap D'Agde, France Arènes

Support: TRUST

Saturday, 29 August 1981 Bayonne, France Arènes

Support: TRUST

Tuesday, 01 September 1981 Orange, France Théatre Antique

Support: TRUST, SCUM

Sunday, 06 September 1981 Belgrade, Former Yugoslavia Hippodrome

Supporting BIJELO DUGME
Svi Mars Na Ples Festival

Tuesday, 08 September 1981 Stockholm, Sweden Göta Lejon

Postponed from 08.05.1981

Wednesday, 09 September 1981 Lund, Sweden Olympen

Postponed from 07.05.1981

Thursday, 10 September 1981 Copenhagen, Denmark Odd Fellow

Postponed from 10.05.1981
Paul Di'Anno's last concert with Iron Maiden

Monday, 26 October 1981 Bologna, Italy Palasport

Bruce Dickinson's first concert with Iron Maiden

Tuesday, 27 October 1981 Rome, Italy Theatro Tenda
Wednesday, 28 October 1981 Florence, Italy Theatro Tenda
Thursday, 29 October 1981 Padova, Italy Palasport
Friday, 30 October 1981 Milan, Italy Palais Lido
Sunday, 15 November 1981 London, UK Rainbow Theatre

Bruce Dickinson's first koncert with Iron Maiden in UK

Wednesday, 23 December 1981 London, UK The Ruskin Arms

Secret concert, Dave Murray's Birthday

PLAY

shaman-eddie.gif

Members Login